Fall 2012 Trends – Scarlet Fever

I know you are saying, “didn’t you just post about oxblood?” And you are right, but red is not the same as the deep wine tones of oxblood and deserves its own post. I own a dozen or so items in red. Most of it have been accumulated during the last 10 years I’ve lived in Salt Lake City. For those of you who have no interest in collegiate sports, The University of Utah Utes wear crimson. I married into Utes nation and now I am a proud owner of many red items to show my Utah pride.

Red on the lips is my favorite way to wear this trend. My Asian eyelids are drooping and this makes eye make-up a joke. I use bright lips to counter the bare eyes. But I know not everyone can pull off a bright red lip, so here are some more user friendly ways to incorperate this trend into your fall. I think that the black and red combination is a classic. This dress from Thakoon shows how red layered underneath the black really makes the dress pop. The simple sillouette makes this dress a classic even in such a bold design.

Another designer to show this trend is Victoria Beckham, who designed this dress with the simple black accents to bring attention to the chest and waist. Posh Spice is known for her body hugging designs, but I think that this dress would only flatter the super tall and skinny.I think that the most amazing use of these two colors comes from Equipment, who makes amazing silk blouses, but here they used a strong python print in red and black for this beautiful dress. I’ve ordered this print in a blue shirt, but now I am eyeing this dress to wear with black tall boots and a black cardi or blazer.

Are these dresses too much red for you? Then the next best thing is to punch up a basic black outfit with some bright accessories. Oh, how I love accessories! I would wear this necklace from Marni with a black turtle neck, yes I like turtlenecks, and jeans. A statement necklace is sometimes all you need to make the outfit.

I have been on the hunt for red pumps and I found the perfect pair at the Nordstrom Anniversary Sale last week. These shoes by Sam Edelman are a classic in red suede with a pointy toe, which by the way is coming back this fall. Get it now through Nordstrom at a great price of $79.90.

Bags are another great way to wear this trend. I love how this Olivia Harris Bowler Satchel uses red and black in a classic shape. This sophisticated bag would look great with work clothes and as well with jeans. You can find this bag at Purse Dreams on sale for $364.

Have a great weekend and happy shopping!

2 thoughts on “Fall 2012 Trends – Scarlet Fever

  1. Pingback: Are You Flirty? | purse dreams

  2. Pingback: Domo arigato, Mr. Roboto – Outfit of the Day | purse dreams

Leave a Reply

