Fall 2012 Trends – Oxblood

I know it is still hot and humid out there, but here in the retail world, we are already thinking about fall.  Fall is my favorite time for shopping.  Maybe it is because this is when my yearly school clothing budget would be allotted from my parents, so I could go shopping.  I was not very good at budgeting and most of my money was spent by the time my birthday rolled around in November, so I would have to wait until next fall for more new clothes.  I guess that’s why I started working in the malls for the spending money and the discount on the clothes.

Most fall trends tend to come back every year.  Deeper richer colors always come back every fall, just like brighter colors come into fashion every spring and summer.  I wanted to give you a sneak into what I think will be some of the trends you will see this fall.  I will concentrate on one new trend in each post this next week.

Bleeding Oxblood

One of the perennial colors that come back every fall is oxblood.  This year is no exception.  You will see deep shades of wine all over the fall selections. 

Hollywood has jumped on this trend early and the starlets have chosen dresses in this deep shade for their red carpet events this summer.

Jason Wu used the bordeaux color for this gorgeous cape accented with black for a sophisticated look.

One of the best looks on this trend comes from AllSaints, who makes some of the most coveted leather jackets around.  This beauty is a standout with the quilted oxblood sleeves and the black leather body.  Yes please!

Of course I have to include some examples of this trend in handbags.  I think that bags using this rich color instantly adds ladylike sophistication.  In this Rebecca Minkoff Circle Quilted Swing, the gold chain and sparse studding adds just the right amount of edge to a very classic style.

Finally, my favorite bag in this trend comes from Pour La Victoire.  Their Bordeaux Totes are made with calf hair and leather in rich colorblocking.  I can’t think of a better tote for fall.

2 thoughts on “Fall 2012 Trends – Oxblood

  1. Pingback: Transitioning Into Fall | purse dreams

Leave a Reply

