Collecting

Collectors are a different breed. If you have ever watched American Pickers, you know what I am talking about. People who collect are obsessive about their precious collections. It doesn’t matter if you collect purses or Pyrex, the obsession is the same. I used to have a Pyrex problem. I’ve replaced that obsession with shoes, which is way more expensive, but takes up less room. I’m in the process of paring down my Pyrex collection. This started when the bottom shelf below was destroyed to my dismay a month ago. But when I wasn’t crying over the shattered Pyrex, I realized that it was time to let some go.

My Pyrex collection started about the time my first daughter was born. I think it was the shock of being a stay at home mom and needing to surround myself with pretty things in the kitchen. I have always loved vintage things, and kitchen ware was something that I could justify buying since I was now in the kitchen a lot. Like my warped reasoning? I visited the Deseret Industries, which is the Salvation Army or Goodwill of Utah. I found beautiful items for a few dollars. And with time to fill, I visited DI several times a week. This is how an addiction starts. Pretty soon I had a beautiful collection.

My favorite color is turquoise, so the Blue Snowflake Garland is my pattern of choice. I also have a variety of other patterns including the Blue Amish and Horizon. For those of you starting your Pyrex collections, Pyrex Love is the best resource for all the pattern names and availability. You can see that I also have an affinity for milk glass, or as my husband calls it, “dead grandma glass”. When I die, my Estate Sale will be awesome! People will be going through my dead grandma collection and drool.

In this age where everything is plastic and disposable, I love how these Pyrex pieces have survived multiple decades and are still as useful. I use my Pyrex mixing bowls on a daily basis and most of my dishes are vintage Corningware that I have found over the years. My collection has spilled into the store. I love how the dishes can be used to display the small leather goods in my vintage rosewood secretary that I purchased from The Green Ant.

Honesty, the hunt is my favorite part.  I think this is probably the case with most collectors.  The biggest hint I will give you is to not limit yourself to the one aisle of dishes when looking for Pyrex.  Look in the aisle with the holiday decorations, look by the pots and pans.  Thrift stores are notorious for not placing sets together.  I found this set in 4 different locations within one store!  I used the set for over 3 years and then just this past winter, gave it to my dear friend in Seattle for her wedding gift.

The vintage Pyrex market is not as outrageously priced as a few years back and you can always find them at your local Goodwill, yard sale, or my favorite – estate sales. I wish I had more time to hunt like I used to, but honestly I don’t need more Pyrex. What do you love to collect? Happy hunting!

Leave a Reply

